AA Chef Of The Year Shortlist Announced

Shortlist-revealed-for-AA-Hospitality-Awards-winners-2016_strict_xxlSix of the country’s top chefs have been shortlisted for AA Chef of the year award,

  • Angela Hartnett,
  • Ashley Palmer-Watts,
  • Clare Smyth,
  • Nigel Haworth,
  • Sat Bains
  • Simon Rogan.

The chefs were drawn up following votes from a collection of chefs who hold an AA rosette.

The winner will be announced at the AA Hospitality Awards on 26 September at London’s Grosvenor House hotel, where the 2015 AA Chefs’ Chef, Daniel Clifford, will oversee the menu. Hosted by comedian and actor Hugh Dennis, the event will see 23 winners receive awards, alongside the announcement of new three, four and five AA rosettes and AA red star hotels.

Other categories announced for finals are

AA Food Service Award

The AA Food Service Award recognises establishments who not only deliver excellent standards of restaurant service and hospitality but also have technical service skills, food and beverage knowledge of the highest standard and a clear commitment to staff training and development.

The three finalists for 2016 are:

  • The Balmoral Number One – Edinburgh
  • The Ritz – London
  • Winteringham Fields – Winteringham

AA Housekeeper of the Year Award (sponsored by Aslotel)

This annual award, sponsored by Aslotel Limited recognises outstanding commitment and performance, identifying a housekeeper who goes above and beyond the call of duty.

The three finalists for 2016 are:

  • Emma Lucking, Kettering Park Hotel and Spa, Kettering
  • Nan McDowell, Crewe Hall, Crewe
  • Heather Rothery, Rufflets Country House, St Andrews

AA Eco Hotel of the Year (sponsored by Belu)

The AA Eco Hotel Awards, sponsored by Belu, acknowledges independent hotels which have demonstrated a clear commitment to sustainability.

The AA judges have been looking for evidence of established policy and employee engagement.  This includes employee training and changes made to operations, development of accountability and ownership of environmental targets as well as internal and external communication of environmental initiatives.  In addition, the judges looked at reduction of consumption of utilities, carbon footprint, waste management and pollution, a recycling programme and the use of sustainable products and local suppliers.

The four finalists for AA Eco Hotel of the Year 2016 are:

  • Aviator – Farnborough
  • Battlesteads Hotel, Hexham
  • St Ermins Hotel, London
  • Oakley Court, Windsor

AA College Restaurant of the Year Awar

The College Restaurant of the Year Award has been developed in conjunction with our partner People 1st, the leading workforce development expert for the hospitality, tourism, travel, passenger-transport and retail industries.  The AA College Rosette Scheme was designed to recognise the efforts of students, both front and back of house who are the future of our hospitality industry.  Colleges within the AA College Rosette Scheme that have shown outstanding achievements in a realistic working environment have been put forward for the first AA College Restaurant of the Year Award.

Following applications from colleges, judging was held in London where industry experts put candidates through a series of practical tasks in order to shortlist three finalists.

These finalists are:

  • The Atrium, University College, Birmingham
  • The Brasserie, Milton Keynes College
  • Foxholes Restaurant, Runshaw College